Pop Goes the Corn

The history of popcorn seemed of interest to me last weekend, so I thought I’d share my findings with you here, in Epicurean’s Corner. My parents just visited me. We did our normal routine – eat, shop, relax, eat again. We also did our normal rent a movie & eat microwave popcorn thang. I always wondered where popcorn came from. And is it a vegetable since corn is? Well, I didn’t find an answer on the Internet about whether or not popcorn is a vegetable although several sources said it was nutritious and here’s what else I found out that seemed interesting.

Popcorn.org represents the little kernel quite well. According to this site, the first popcorn was found in a bat cave in New Mexico between 1948 and 1950. Before that though, there was a popcorn dance in 16th Century Aztec Indian ceremonies. Popcorn was considered a luxury, at 5 or 10 cents a bag, during the Depression. Microwave popcorn emerged in the 1940s. “The average American eats about 54 quarts” of popcorn each year now.

Anyone up for the popcorn dance? Yeah, I think I’ll just stick with my standard movie & microwave popcorn too.

1 Comment »

  1. Sara said

    I’m up for the popcorn dance!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

