the Bird

I have to say that the chicken in the poultry family is my favorite bird. I think I could live off chicken sandwiches all week. I started eating chicken in high school when I was anemic, i.e. my body’s iron level was too low. So, it doesn’t surprise me that I’ve read a lot lately online about the healthy aspects of poultry. Here’s a cool recipe for a poultry dish I thought I’d share for any fellow chicken lovers out there in the blogosphere.

Brought to us from ThePoultrySite.com, Frittata with chicken and basil Ingredients (Serves 4) Preparation: 15 minutes/Cooking: 15 minutes

8 eggs, beaten 1 cooked skinless boneless chicken breast, about 125 g/4 oz, cut into thin strips 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves 1 small bunch of fresh parsley, chopped 1 tablespoon olive oil Salt and freshly ground black pepper Fresh herb sprigs, to garnish

Method

1. Mix the eggs, chicken, basil and parsley together in a large bowl. Season generously with salt and pepper.

2. Heat the oil in a non-stick frying pan and pour in the egg mixture.

3. Cover and cook over a low heat for about 10 minutes.

4. Slide the frittata onto a flat plate and then return it to the frying pan the other side up. Cook gently for a further 5 minutes or until golden brown on both sides.

5. Cut the frittata into small rectangles or diamond shapes, garnish with fresh herb sprigs and serve warm.

If you’d like more info on nutrients in poultry or how to prepare poultry, check out the company resource guide on it – http://www.celebrityfoodspoultry.com/

Leave a Reply

