Vegetable Delivery

When I was teaching 5th & 6th grade Science in the woods of the San Bernardino Mountains, my meals were usually pre-determined by the cook in the dining hall since I worked on a camp site barely funded by an unnamed department of education. My “official” classroom supplies were a bit hard to find in my classroom of woods, food being one of those supplies. So, my fellow teachers and I loaded up on vegetables at the salad bar at night. Well, loaded the vegetables up into our backpacks to have snacks for the next day. Come mid-day, mid-hike, mid-lesson, the next day, my fellow teacher Thom would throw me a couple carrots and I’d throw him a couple sticks of celery to get through the day. Now, that’s vegetable delivery.

Have any out of ordinary experiences with vegetables lately? Do tell.

Leave a Reply

