Brain Freeze equals Not FUN!

 

Here I am, minding my own business, just enjoying my frozen yogurt, until WHAM! The most excruciating pain has grabbed hold of my brain, forcing all thoughts, memories and even mental visionaries to move out of my mind.

 

I immediately dropped my spoon, and grabbed my head. What is this, and why is it hurting so much? Just make it stop!! Aaaaah, finally the pain dwindles down. Now I can get back to eating my yogurt in peace, hopefully.

 

 It is the most interesting scientific phenomenon no one ever thinks to look up on Google…. what is it? BRAIN FREEZE! Other terms used are “ice cream headache,” a “freezie,” or as one weird individual might say, a “frigid face,” …..what the heck?? All right, whatever. Moving on!

 

The scientific name for a brain freeze is sphenopalatine ganglioneuralgia. The term is used to describe a cranium (brain) pain.

The reaction is generally caused a few seconds after cold contents are consumed, hitting the roof of your mouth.

The reaction is not of the cold itself, but more of the quick warming of the “hard palate.” Hey, don’t ask me. I don’t make up the rules, I just write about them. 

According to Wikipedia, the hard palate is a thin horizontal bony plate of the skull, located in the roof of the mouth. After your body slowly warms back up, you’re headache goes away.

Thank goodness this pain doesn’t last forever, otherwise we’d still be holding our heads from the very first time we discovered what a “brain freeze” was.

The next time, this happens, try drinking some room-temperature water to bring your hard palate back to normal more quickly.

J

Leave a Reply

